Colpaert and Milicic lead after swim

Last year’s winner Bart Colpaert (BEL) was first out of the water in the ETU European Championships. The Belgium athlete has a lead of over 2 minutes at the start of the bike. He was followed by Russian Andrey Lyatskiy, Georg Potrebitsch (GER), Markus Fachbach (GER) and Georgii Kaurov (RUS). First Dutch athlete was Diederik Scheltinga, who exited the water 5 minutes and 45 seconds behind the race leader. One minute later a group with ‘mister Almere’ Gerrit Schellens (BEL) passed the spectators at the Esplanade.

Croatian Željka Šaban Milicic was the first of the elite women to exit the Weerwater after 56 minutes and fifteen seconds. Almere’s Corine Nelen followed her with a deficit of 95 seconds. Third was Rahel Bellinga (NED), closely followed by Celia Kuch (GER) and Vanessa Pereira (POR).

Intermediate times: